Best of 2011

You know, I just wanted to give you my top 5 experiences of 2011. Enjoy!

# 1: Men

Friday night JD Samson and the rest of MEN delivered a high energy, kickass, political and fun consert at Blå. Though JD was sick and had a sore throat she gave it her all. She is so freaking H.O.T! I was just born when they played here last time, and MEN is a favorite band of mine, so I was really happy that Oslo got them when the Arvika festival was cancelled.

MEN began in 2007 as the DJ/production/remix team of Le Tigre members JD Samson and Johanna Fateman. In 2008 MEN expanded to incorporate the live band, Hirsute: JD Samson, Michael O’Neill, Ginger Brooks Takahashi, and Emily Roysdon. Together, the group created the album ‘Talk About Body.’

MEN

# 2: Hercules and Love Affair  

The fabulous boys & girls of Hercules and Love Affair made a hell of a party last night, commencing @ øyafestivalen 2011 with an amazing concert and then the devoted crowd met up with them again @sukkerbiten. Hot DJs, hot crowd, you can tell I’m shivering behind my cool pink. Love you to bits- please come back soon!

Hercules and Love Affair

# 3: Pecha Kucha Vol. 17

Pecha Kucha Night is an event where each presenter have 20 slides, each shown for 20 seconds. Each presenter has just 6 minutes 40 seconds to explain their ideas before the next presenter takes the stage. Last Thursday one of the presentations was about ME!! I got to meet a lot of talented and creative people. There are so many great minds and exciting projects happening here in Oslo, so make sure you don’t miss the next Pecha Kucha!

A big, pink heart to all of you coming to support me!

Pecha Kucha crew

# 4: Planningto rock @ Ekko festivalen

I was so excited when I got to know that Planningtorock were playing @ the Ekko festival in Bergen. I was really keen on talking to my girl Janine, but you never showed up in the bar after your fantastisc show. Maybe we can hook up next time your in Norway?

Planning to Rock is fierce! People ask me: What is Planningtorock? The reply is: Planningtorock is the vehicle of expression of Janine Rostron , a musician and visual artist from Bolton, Manchester who has lived in Berlin for ten years.

Btw: She played mostly songs from her new album W, the follow-up to her 2006 debut Have It All!

I❤ you!

Planning to rock

# 5: Hard Ton: The Interview

Some divas are bigger than others. I got my pink bum in action and sent a few questions to Hard Ton, my kind of disco queen!

1. Who’s Hard Ton?
A hot cappuccino with bacon sliced beats with sequins on top.

2. Who are your idols?
Freddy Mercury and Geoff Tate.

3. What other artists inspire you?
Sylvester, Madonna, Cicciolina, Leigh Bowery, Patrick Cowley, Nick Rhodes, Tadanori Yokoo… a lot!

4. Favourite tune at the moment?
Discodromo featuring Miss Plug Inn: Stars & Rain

5. Put your iPod on shuffle. Which five songs comes up and can you tell me briefly about what the five songs bring up to your mind?
Elektrik Dred: Butter up (Gimme some bread)
Queensryche: Take Hold Of The Flame
David Bowie: Hey Dj
Dream Theater: Scarred
Nirvana: Smells Like Teen Spirit

… i might update my Ipod soon

6. Where is Hard Ton in 5 years?
Singing for the Queen of England.

7. Do you have a motto or manifest?
Size does matter!

8. Describe your dream man?
Chris O’Donnell 10 years ago dressed up like Robin.

9. Reveal something nobody knows about Hard Ton?
Once upon a time I was slim.

Hard Ton

Legg igjen en kommentar

